A Radish is A Swede

As I looked at the still growing radish. I realized, it’s not a radish. It’s a swede. There’s no measure to how silly I felt, for calling myself a gardener, and being a Produce Manager, I have mistaken a swede for a giant radish. Let’s just hope that swede remain a swede and didn’t turn into a turnip.

Processed with Rookie Cam

So far, I’ve learned to tell the difference between a Cardon and a Globe Artichoke.

Processed with Rookie Cam

This is a Globe Artichoke.

Processed with Rookie Cam

And this is a Cardoon.

Processed with Rookie Cam

And while I was out there taking a photos of them. Here’s a look into the Mandala Garden from the street. I think I am going to keep the sunflowers coming every year.

I’m also having a very good run with the pumpkins this year. Must have something to do with the fresh compost.

Processed with Rookie Cam

This is a spot of the Evening Sun Sunflower. Bronze, not over powering red. Good form.

Processed with Rookie Cam

Like a cross between Evening Sun and Vanilla Ice.

Processed with Rookie Cam

There’s a pair of bumble bees on the flowers. One of my neighbours has got a hive but I haven’t seen many of their bees in here yet. There’s a few odd regular bees but I think they are the native bees.

Processed with Rookie Cam

Some Californian Poppies.

Processed with Rookie Cam

I am more than stoked to see most of the berries have taken off. And a very well formed berries on this one. There’s a definite relationship between how well established they are to the form of their fruit.

All the Northern Highbush Blueberries are alive too, and not dying. To my delight, they are slowly coming away. I’m quite pleased with that as I usually don’t have much luck with them. I’m going to be acquiring eight different varieties of Rabbiteye Blueberries end of this season to be planted into the Mandala Garden, along with it some plums and plumcots.

Processed with Rookie Cam

Globe Artichokes seedlings and a few varieties of Brussels Sprouts. I’ll check their roots at some stage and see if they are ready to be planted out.

Processed with Rookie Cam

This is my strip of lawn. I have not mowed it for weeks. It is turning into a strip of meadow with a much healthier diversity than the regular mono culture lawn where people regularly poison off the broad leaves.

Processed with Rookie Cam

One can find delight in the beauty of a bunched of chamomiles.

Somehow, I always find Summer a rather plain time in the garden. I’m more or less just waiting for the harvest. And eating the carrots and beetroots off the garden. The occasional weeding of whatever I found no longer desirable. The pinching off of new growth of the fruit trees once they reached a certain length. Collecting Caesar’s poo into the worm farm, not sure if there’s any worm in the farm. Training the tomatoes. And the Belgian Fence.

When Autumn comes, it gets busy again. It’ll be time to work on cutting back the Oregon hedge soon.

Side note, I think if we are to compare Caesar’s poo to mine, his will be more organic than mine as he only get fed K9 Natural and raw bones. He supplement that with the assortment of herbal stuff growing naturally in the Forest Garden. I don’t treat him for fleas and I don’t give him worming tablets. I’m sure, his poo is more worm farm friendly, than mine.

Leave a Reply

