Escaped

I wasn’t feeling that great last week so I decided to take a MC off the weekly blogging. Anyway, I’m feeling much better now after a daily serving of a teaspoon of manuka honey and crushed garlic lolly. I swear this is the fastest recovering cold I have ever had. Special thanks to Kay Baxter for the recipe, some of the guys at the September PDC 2015 had to go to it.

img_2512

Had a trip back to the Orchard Cottage again and those sweetcorn are growing amazing! The guys have taken away all the raised beds, so I wasn’t able to get my hands on the broadbeans.

img_2521

Back home in Rakaia, the previous tenants have left us a gift of potatoes. I don’t know what varieties are the white ones but the yellow ones would usually be agria.

img_2522

Lilies are in bloom. One of the few elements that I will keep on this place are the lilies, roses, and bulbs.

img_2523

Apparently, Caesar managed to jump one of the fence! He can jump the windbreak fence at the front most part of the property by getting onto the raised bed and taking a leap of faith into the conifer hedge. Luckily for me, I have plans to put another windbreak fence along the raised bed to fence in the Bio-intensive vege garden, and that will keep him in.

I’ve just started the prep work on it today, removing extra bits of the raised beds so that the windbreak can go in a straight line from end to end. Wow, those big bits of roots that were still left in the ground after all those big trees were taken out. They are as thick as my arm. When there’s a will, there’s a way, and my hatchet did the job quite well. It looks like a big job, but one root at a time, and soon all the roots are gone.

img_2520

This dog can swim.

Next weekend, I’ll be putting the windbreak up along the front raised bed.

Leave a Reply

