Moving Mountains

I’ve bought a Ryobi 600w Hedge Trimmer, and sold the old cordless Bosch AHS 48 Li for $100, so I only paid $50 for the new one. The Ryobi has got 600w of power behind it, and 28mm of tooth space, while the Bosch has got less power and only 15mm of tooth space. The logic is simple, I needed something more powerful to attack and maintain the conifer hedge. And I wanted to do it without using a gasoline powered device.

img_2456

See, my nice well trimmed straight hedge. I finished the job in the evening with the Ryobi after returning with it from Bunnings in the late afternoon. This morning, I took it out to do a bit of touch up work and the performance was a world apart. Yesterday, it was the best hedge trimmer ever. Today, it won’t even do what the old Bosch can do. So, I took it back, and they exchanged it with a new one.

That’s the catch with buying the more budget conscious brand. They tend to over promise and under deliver. I had the Bosch for over 2 years and it is still going strong. Now, I’m just thinking if I should on sell the brand new unopened Ryobi for $145 and wait till Boxing Day  2016 to get my next hedge trimmer?

img_2453

The brown perfectionist hedge. I should probably give it a good seaweed spray to help it recover from the massacre. Over the week I shall get the stakes put in and the windbreak fence installed.

img_2452

These free old fence palings will come in handy as slats for the seedlings nursery that I’m building. It saved me more than $100 in cost. Having said that, I wrote a complaint email to Mitre 10 Mega Hornby for charging me cutting fee amounting to 14% of the cost of the timber just so to get them to standard 2.4m length to load on the truck. They have till tomorrow to respond before I take further action.

img_2455

I can be a real cheapskate. Like these once rotten spring onions I bought at reduced price, chopped the tops off and replanted the lot. Now, I get plenty of new spring onions! I did that before too at the Orchard Cottage didn’t I?

img_2454

See the bean has germinated beside the sweetcorn. I was asked the other day, how do you tell if a supermarket sweetcorn is going to be sweet? For the well informed gardener, this would come across as a trick question. After all, sweetcorn, like asparagus, start losing their sweetness right after they were harvested. So, going by the rule of picking the best among the worst, get the sweetcorn with fresh looking silk, and avoid the completely browned off ones.

The logic is that all corn progress from the milk stage to the flour/maize/seed saving (don’t know what the expert call it) stage, and sweetcorn is harvested at the milk stage where the silk are just starting to brown. So, the sweetcorn on the shelf with fresher looking silk will theoretically taste better than the one with completely browned off silk.

img_2457

The seeds sown last week have germinated. I have a feeling I need to start Brussels sprouts soon. And some other herbs and veges. But first, I need to transplants the perennials into larger pots.

img_2458

Tomato is flowering. Yay yay! I have been removing the flowers off some of the weaker plants to let them gain some vigour. I might have to give the whole plant a wee cut back to reduce the load on the root system too.

Some other plans in the pipeline. Do some soil texturing test using the jar method to nail down the soil composition. Pop broadbeans, peas and lupin into the lawn to get some nitrogen fixing going and hopefully some more biology. The plan is to poke holes into the lawn with the fork, pop the seeds in and walk away. For the front lawn, I’ll mow the lot down after a bit and lay down the weedmat to kill off nitrogen fixers and grass before converting them into a double digged Biointensive garden.

So yes, the Great Wall of China wasn’t built in a single day.

Leave a Reply

